Rain, late April

I chatted to a Chechen taxi driver for about 20 minutes when he drove me back from a bar late one night. I wasn’t in the clearest state of mind at the time but we accomplished a civil and relatively understandable conversation in Russian about the current geopolitical situation vis-à-vis American and Russian interventionism in the Middle East. He was a surprisingly ardent supporter of Gaddafi. I managed to talk the price down by 400 rubles by the end. He even invited me to visit his hometown of Grozny. I don’t think I’ll be taking him up on it.

Leave a Reply

